It's Sunday and I actually managed to stay in bed until 6:45! For me that's a lazy morning!
Yesterday, I knew we were going out for lunch, but we were planning on Mexican. Instead, as frequently happens, my ADHD brain derailed that. Inevitably on the day of, I'm like "But wait, what if this instead?" It drives Jess insane. I was idly flipping through social media and one of my acquaintances on facebook was somewhere overseas, having High Tea at a hotel. Her pictures of the food were amazing and I was like "I wonder if there's any new teahouses near us?" And it turns out there's a very highly rated one just over the state line, called the
Tea Trolley in Delta, PA. Not more than a 45 minute drive. I mentioned this to Jess in my best "I'm sorry I'm a pain in the ass" way, and they were intrigued. So we went for a drive.
It was a pretty pleasant drive and didn't tweak my carsickness like the trip to the winery did, so that was good. We had a little bit of trouble finding it, mostly owing to google not being the most clear, but we figured it out, and pulled in behind an enormous Victorian mansion. They had a ramp at the back, but we went in the front way, and came up the front stairs. As per usual, we'd gotten there super early, so we had a little while to wait, browsing the gift shop. Before too long, our adorable waiter took us to our seats. We were upstairs, which was fine, since the downstairs rooms were packed. The room was wallpapered in burgundy, and the seats were pretty but sturdy, which I as a fat girl very much appreciated. The table set up was very delicate, with fine china, and a dainty floral tablecloth.
I ended up getting the Almond Cookie tea, which is almond, cinnamon and black tea. They brought up this enormous pot of it--had to be at least 1.5 quarts. I know I had five (admittedly dainty) cups of tea, and it still had more to give. The taste was amazing. I plopped a sugar cube in and it tasted so good. I ended up buying a bag of it to take home.
We orded the Full Tea and added soup and salad for $3 each. This brought our total up to a reasonable $31/pp, which still seems a bit on the cheap side. I kind of expect that it's going to be closer to $50. While we were sitting, we saw a couple of the salads go past, and then the soup was cream of crab, so we figured why not?
The salad came first. It was a spinach salad with strawberries, bacon dressign and topped with feta cheese. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Simple, but very tasty. Next up was the soup, which was
amazing. Probably some of hte best cream of crab I've ever had. It had just enough Old Bay to give a little burn, and the broth was so creamy with chunks of crab in it.
Then, the tower came. The bottom tier had the savories, which included a cucumber sandwich, a curried chicken salad with radish and mango (Jess ate both of those due to mango allergy.), and a phyllo cup with spinach dip, and then leek bacon mini quiche. (I ate both of those due to Jess' egg squick.) They were amazing. I could have eaten many, many more of them. Then it was up to the sweets, which were a lemon bar, which was okay, but I don't like lemon in my desserts. Jess gave it a thumbs up. There was a tiny pineapple upside down cake which was very tasty. And then there was a peanut butter chocolate cookie dunked in white chocolate and peanut butter, with a sweet peanut butter drizzle. SO good. Rich as hell, so I only ate half, not because I didn't want to. I just also wanted to try the scone.
The scone was a raspberry white chocolate, and was very good. Crispy on the outside, tender on the in, lightly dusted with powdered sugar and with the appropriate accompaniments of clotted cream, lemon curd and a lovely strawberry compote.
All in all, it was a wonderful time, totally worth the 45 minute drive.
Later, I went to the weed store for my sleepy pills. I'm hating the idea that I can't take them to Alaska. There's going to be some tough sleep nights, I think.
After that, I was starting with a migraine, so I went to bed early and napped. It wasnt' a great nap, as I had some nightmares, where I was rude and kind of an asshole to Jess, so I woke up feeling guilty about stuff I did in a dream.
I was wide awake at bedtime, but I put on a video on youtube about Hawaii and soon settled down for a long winter's nap.
Today, I shall write a little set up for our little RP today. I'm looking forward to meeting the new characters, and as long as roll20 behaves while we set up the other players character sheet, we'll have a lot of fun.
I'm going to offer to the other two players that if they want to roleplay anything prior to the game as far as set up, we can definitely do that. We have no games on Sunday next week, so I could sneak in a couple of quick sessions.
After that, I'm going to figure out what to do for dinner, and maybe make the puppy more food. The goat meat and butternut squash was a resounding success, so I'd like to make him more of that. I might also make another chicken, since all either of them need to do is simmer for a couple of hours. I also have ground goat meat that I could fry up with vegetables and make a less wet food. Not sure what starch to put in there. maybe a little bit of quinoa.
Tomorrow, it's back to work for another busy day. I should get more info on when I'm shadowing the dumpster fire after they talk to her. I'm assuming it'll be later in the week, as they need me on the phones on Monday and Tuesday.
At some point this week, I need to do my cologuard screening and maybe my at home pap smear. The joys of aging.
Okay, time to go forth and finish writing the intro for todays session. Everyone have a wonderful Sunday!